Fathom expands aerospace platform with three manufacturing acquisitions
Integrating TCS Industries, TCS Electronics and PGM creates a ten-site, roughly 700-person network around additive and precision production.
Fathom Digital Manufacturing has acquired TCS Industries, TCS Electronics and Precision Grinding & Manufacturing Corporation. The transactions announced on 13 October 2026 expand the group's US network to ten facilities and approximately 700 employees. Purchase prices and financing terms were not disclosed.
Fathom bought a broader production chain, not another printer
Fathom offers more than 25 processes, including DMLS, FDM, MJF, PolyJet, SLA and SLS, but the direct additions are conventional precision and electronics capabilities. The two TCS businesses contribute CNC machining, sheet-metal fabrication, aluminium dip brazing, welding, electromechanical box builds, PCB assembly and cable harnesses. PGM adds milling, turning, grinding, lapping, honing, assembly and specialised finishing.
That matters to additive manufacturing because an aerospace or defence part rarely leaves a printer as a finished product. Metal AM normally requires heat treatment, machining, finishing, inspection, documentation and often integration into a larger assembly. Fathom says the combined platform can handle more of the route from development to qualified production. Shared quality systems, data transfer and measured lead times will determine whether that integration produces the claimed benefit.
Regulated-market access is not automatic
The announcement says TCS and PGM hold AS9100 certifications and ITAR registrations; Fathom describes itself as AS9100 and CMMC 2.0 certified and ITAR registered. These controls have defined organisational and site scopes. They do not mean every process, machine, material or newly transferred workflow is automatically approved for every aerospace programme. A customer still needs to check certificate scope, special-process approvals and part-specific qualification.
Verified event, company claim and open evidence
The announced acquisitions, named Rochester capabilities, ten-site footprint and approximately 700 employees are concrete facts in the primary release. Claims about a more resilient domestic supply chain, fewer bottlenecks and a smoother transition from development to production come from Fathom and owner CORE Industrial Partners. No public before-and-after dataset yet covers capacity, yield, delivery performance or cost.
Practical conclusion
The direction shows why an industrial AM supplier is increasingly valued for the complete route rather than its printer count. A critical customer buys an auditable manufacturing chain. Supplier qualification should therefore map the actual part across sites, approved processes, inspection feedback and change control instead of accepting a capability list. Fathom has assembled a larger platform; subsequent delivery data must prove execution.
Sources and transparency
Transaction and capability details come from Fathom and CORE's primary corporate announcement. Metal AM served as a trade-press topic detector and secondary check. Purchase price, company-level financials and post-acquisition performance indicators were not disclosed.